Tuesday, February 21, 2012

サンリオキャラクターガム Sanrio Character Gum

Click on pictures to enlarge them~

The package with all the boxes inside it.

 Questions and Answers
They were underneath all the boxes of gum~


 Back of the box



I couldn't help it, when I saw this in the store, I had to get it! Cute, and colorful packages usually catch my eye, and being a fan of Sanrio was another factor :P

Flavors: Strawberry, Grape, Apple, Orange, and Yogurt! Yogurt flavor might sound a bit odd but it taste good. It taste like vanilla yogurt, I guess. The flavors are sweet, but not too sweet. The flavors last a while, too!

Texture: The gumballs and pieces look hard but are quite soft. They are easy to chew and do not feel gritty like most gums once they have been chewed.

Presentation: The packaging is so cute, I think! Each box has a character on it with a really cute drawing, and the individual pieces look like the Bazooka Joe gums, but instead have cute Sanrio characters on them, and inside the wrapper of the individual pieces is a little information about the Sanrio character on it's wrapper! The box it comes in is cute, and I like that it has some writing under the oxes of gum, because it's just fun in my opinion.




I'm not supposed to be chewing gum anyways because I have braces, but lol I really liked it!



YuMmY * 

Monday, December 26, 2011

Merry Christmas! & Update!

                                                     (Click on photos to enlarge them)
I hope you all had a Happy Holidays! Sorry for the very late update, I was waiting until I got my new camera...and I got it! So... expect better quality photos! :D
My brother bought me a Canon PowerShot ELPH 310! It's amazing! I'm still learning all it's functions and how to get better shots out of it.  I have it set to 9M 4000x2248, so the size of the photos are rather large lol. Anyyyyyyway, enough of about my awesome camera, back to le candy !

One present I received from a very good friend was from Dylan's Candy Bar, and it was a S'mores chocolate bar.

 The designs on the chocolate bar are so cute! It's a lollipop, icecream cone, present and a martini glass (?)  
The chocolate bar it self was very good! My cousins and I really enjoyed it. Inside the milk chocolate bar is pieces of graham crackers and marshmallows. The chocolate kind of melted in your mouth, but you had a chewy texture from the marshmallows and a crunch from the graham crackers It really did taste like S'mores! :)



YuMmY *

Monday, November 14, 2011

Beef Brisket Noodle Soup (Chinese)

[click photos to enlarge]
Beef Brisket Noodle Soup is a Chinese dish that has many variations.
Main ingredients for the soup:
 * -Soup Base: Shacha Sauce (沙茶); soybean oil, garlic, shallots, chillis, brill fish, and fried shrimp
-Beef Brisket
-Daikon Radish
-Ginger (sliced)
-Green Onions/Scallions (chopped)
-Parsley
*-Guilin rice noodles (桂林米粉) *The noodles are cooked separately. They are not mixed with the soup while it's cooking. The soup is to be poured over the serving of noodles in the bowl. 

Yesterday was my first time trying this soup. It was an interesting combination to have beef brisket in a soup base that tasted slightly fishy. However, this is a very common mix, for example "surf n' turf". What I like about this soup is that the flavors balance together, not overpowering one another. You can taste the ginger, scallions, parsley, daikon radish, brisket and shacha sauce with each bite. The soup had aromatics
The beef brisket was so tender, it kind of felt like it was almost "melting" in your mouth when you eat it because of how soft it is. It was not brackish at all. The shacha sauce is rather savory, and just has a little bit of spice to the point where it adds flavor, but does not overwhelm the palate.  The noodles were also perfectly cooked, giving them a nice bite. This soup is very savory, and delicious.

I was lucky enough to have tried it home made.  If you go to a authentic Chinese restaurent and they happen to have this on their menu, do order it! You will not be disappointed.


YuMmY * 

Tuesday, November 8, 2011

ぷっちょ PUCCHO !

            C a N d  Y  T i M e !          [click on photo to enlarge]








Puccho is a Japanese candy. 

 Puccho is really sticky, chewy, and has a similar texture to Willy Wonka's Laffy Taffy. The white, taffy rectangle has little gumi balls inside of it, and the gumi balls are a lot more chewier then the white "taffy". Sometimes the little gumi balls are "fizzy", depending on the flavour. Puccho, comes in a variety of flavours such as grape, orange, lemon, yogurt, cherry, peach, melon, "rainbow", and more! Each candy comes individually wrapped and each wrapper has a different drawing on it with a joke, similar to the Laffy Taffy wrappers. I think the packaging, and candy it self is just fun and colorful, I can see why it's so popular among kids. I wish I had a different flavor, such as the "rainbow" one because the package is so cute but I do encourage you to check out the website to see the varieties

 -> See main website for more information about Puccho and the company at -> http://puccho.jp/ 


YuMmY *

Sunday, November 6, 2011

Cream Corn Cup Soup [コーンクリーム-カップスープ)

Thank you Arisa!

You may be familiar with this brand already, Knorr. It is a German brand but in Japan it's controlled by a company called Ajinomoto. What I have here is a cup soup that is cream corn flavored. The package comes with three soups. To make this, you simply empty the contents of the packet into the bowl or cup....
and as you can see it is just a fine powder with little pieces of corn in it. The texture of the powder was a bit like cornmeal. 
After you have it in your bowl or cup, boil 150ml (1/2) cups of water, pour it on the soup mix, and stir. 
And now you have a bowl of cream corn soup! 

This soup was just LITTLE bit sweet, but corn it self is rather sweet in my opinion. I can't really describe the flavor. It wasn't salty, but it wasn't distinctively sweet. The flavors did balance well. If you like cream corn soup and you happen to see this, I recommend buying it! As far as brands go, I don't think a different name brand would differ that much from Knorr's. 


YuMmY *

Saturday, November 5, 2011

TONG SUI - 紅豆湯 (Sweet Soup, Chinese)

糖水(literal meaning : Sugar Water)
Tong Sui/Sweet Soup is most common in Cantonese cooking. Tong Sui is either a warm soup or custard, and it is served at the end of the meal for dessert. There are many varieties of different dessert soups. 

Henry's mother, who is from Guangzhou often cooks this soup, and many other kinds which are all delicious. Nothing tastes better than homemade food, so being able to have a bowl of warm, homemade tong sui on a cold day made me happy. Henry's mother is so nice! She made some soup and she and Henry came to my house and gave me a  quart of it! I had to share half the quart with Arisa because I knew she would enjoy it as well. 

This soup was  紅豆湯 (Red Bean Soup).
The ingredients were red beans, taro root, tapioca pearls, and rock sugar, which is where the sweet flavor comes from. Although it is sweet it is not overwhelming. You can taste the red bean and taro root, and since red bean and taro have their own sweetness there is no need for that much rock sugar. Tapioca doesn't have a taste in my opinion, but it just add a some texture the soup. 
The dark lavender soup mixed with the red color from the beans and clear tapioca looks interesting. The texture of the soup is watery but also creamy. The azuki beans and taro root gave are mushy so there was nothing to chew, but he tapioca pearls are chewy :3 
I think this soup taste good hot or cold. 

^TaroRoot, RedBean, & Tapioca Pearl.

This soup was so

YuMmY* !


ポテトチップ ! Potato Chips from YAMAYOSHI.

YAMAYOSHI is a brand in Japan. Although I can't translate the bag 100% it is a potato chip that taste like Okonomiyaki (お好み焼き) . Okonmiyaki is a savory pancake.

Here is what the bag looks like. That little quote on the bottom made me laugh. "We always produce YAKI SAUCE for all customer's smiles" LOL. I don't even know. 
They tasted like honey BBQ chips to be honest. It was good. 

The little cow is saying ”いつもありがとうございます” (Thank you, always) ^^
So cute, right?




Thanks for reading ♡